Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga is a style of modern yoga created by K. Pattabhi Jois during the 20th century, often promoted as a modern-day form of classical Indian yoga.

This method of yoga comprises a set of continuous flowing, dynamic and powerful postures, offering you a new challenge daily for the rest of your life.

Ashtanga is a unique form of Hatha Yoga that places emphasis on the flowing energy of breath, body and mind to cultivate an inner-core strength.  The primary instrument of Ashtanga Yoga is the body which is led through a sequence of Yoga postures.  The distinguishing elements and its practice are weaved together with the eight limbs of Patanjali’s Yoga Sutra to create Sadhana – a complete spiritual practice.

These elements are:

  • Vinyasa – breath synchronized motion
  • Ujjayi Pranayama – victorious breathing
  • Bandhas – Inner locks
  • Drishti – Gaze Points

Following the Ashtanga Primary Series, we do standing postures, balancing poses, forward bends, twists, back bends, and inversions.  Essentially presenting you with a full body/mind det-tox.

The prescribed arrangement teaches us to eventually do our own self-practice, whereby a non-judgemental attitude is cultivated.   As such, Ashtanga Style Yoga is basically your own comprehensive moving meditiation.  You start to appreciate the true meaning of YOGA.

The union between your body, mind and breath, as you learn to work at your own unique pace.

The Meaning of Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga Yoga literally means “eight-limbed yoga”:

~ Yama – Moral Commandments
~ Niyama – Personal Observances
~ Asana – Posture
~ Pranayama – Breath Control
~ Pratyahara – Sense Withdrawal
~ Dharana – Concentration
~ Dhyana – Meditation
~ Samadhi – Unity Consciousness